Single Reviews: Shame Shame

Hey Guys, 👋 this is the first of my song reviews. These will likely be the more regular posts as they are less time consuming to put together than any other articles. Please feel free to give feedback or request a song review either by email or by leaving a comment. My subsequent reviews won’t obviously include this introduction, this is just to get things going. I hope you enjoy the review and the many more that will follow after.

Also before we continue I do have to admit it was difficult to decide what song to review as the very first one. So I thought about it for a while and after some time realized hey I might as well start with a band I like. So here it is!

Foo Fighters – Shame Shame

Label: RCA Records

Release date: November 7

As you can see the band I chose was Foo Fighters, who just so happened to have recently released a single last month which they debuted on Saturday Night Live on November 7. The song is entitled “Shame Shame” and it will be included in the band’s upcoming tenth studio album, ‘Medicine at Midnight’ set to be released February 5, 2021.

According to lead singer and guitarist Dave Grohl,

“This new release is unlike anything the Foo Fighters have done before and has allowed them to move into another territory with their sound for the new album.”

Dave Grohl – NME Magazine

So let’s see what we think of Dave’s new sound on this single.

The song begins with a funky beat from drummer Taylor Hawkins, then the bass joins in accompanied shortly after by Grohl’s vocals. The mid-tempo drum beat carries through much of the song with some guitar bends thrown in during the final refrain and then builds up to the chorus like you would expect from a Foo Fighters song. This is where for me it feels like there is something missing I kept expecting it to burst into a loud thrashing chorus but it never does and seems somewhat subdued.

I would like to add though that I did enjoy the chorus despite the vocals being relatively restrained for a Foo Fighters chorus it does catch your attention and seems to get better the more you listen to it. The “oooohs” that Grohl throws into quite a few of his songs are always a joy to hear though that might be some bias from me. Then we come back to the place we began with the drum and bass complementing each other with the slight hint of a guitar included in the outro. Then finally the words “Shame Shame” where we abruptly finish.

Overall I would not say it was outstanding but there are some interesting elements that would definitely draw people in. Grohl has said they were going for something different and I think he has delivered that, though it may divide opinion for some fans. I personally have come to like it the more I listen to it, however I can’t give it more than 3 stars as I wouldn’t say it’s up their with some of the best Foo Fighters tunes but it is certainly worth a listen.

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Why not follow if you wish to be notified of new posts.

One thought on “Single Reviews: Shame Shame

Leave a comment