Single Reviews: Better Off Dead

jxdn – Better Off Dead

Label: DTA Records/Elektra Records

Release Date: December 18, 2020

jxdn or Jayden Hossler is a relatively new artist having only released his first single ‘Comatose’ earlier this year. He gained recognition through Tik Tok which is not necessarily what I really want to hear about a new artist. I have no problem with Tik Tok the platform is all good for fun and games and doing silly dances. Though when someone from that platform breaks into music I sometimes can’t help but feel it will be just another flavor of the month song that will be forgotten in a few weeks.

However I had a slight change of heart when I learnt that the label that signed him were DTA Records owned by drummer and producer Travis Barker many of whom’s tracks I really enjoy. For this song jxdn also collaborated with blackbear and Lauv who co wrote the song with him and even though I’m not the biggest hip/hop enthusiast I like some of blackbear’s music so it did add some intrigue. So let’s get into what I thought of the track.

This is an interesting piece of alt pop with elements of hip/hop and rap thrown in which as I stated aren’t normally my favorite genres though there are a few gems here and there. The song begins with Jayden’s vocals with some synth electronic sounds soon joined by an acoustic guitar. The guitar is then replaced by a Trap beat with Travis Barker on the drums. We keep this similar beat through much of the song though there are a few change up’s here and there with the acoustic guitar coming back in at points and becomes more of a focus on the bridge.

Looking at the lyrics, it is relatable to many people. It focuses on a breakup and the feelings you experience during that difficult period. There are some good lines in the chorus that add to that relatability.

‘It’s been cloudy with a chance of anxiety

Can’t keep out the demons inside of me

Maybe I’m just better off dead’

jxdn – ‘Better Off Dead‘

Though maybe some people don’t think as dark as that but that feeling of thinking things don’t get better is something many people can relate too and does add a bit to this track. Though obviously there is the problem that I don’t know who deserves the credit for the lyrics as I’m not sure how much was influenced by blackbear or Lauv.

Overall though despite that complication it is a catchy song even if I don’t know if Jayden deserves all the credit for the lyrics. I do like his vocals so I think I’ll give this song 3 stars it’s good and gets marks for Travis on drums. I would definitely recommend it but I feel there is just something missing and it is perhaps a little short.

Rating: 3 out of 5.

Why not follow if you wish to be notified of new posts.

One thought on “Single Reviews: Better Off Dead

Leave a comment