Interview: Craig Ewan of Dead Defined

Band Members:

Craig Ewan

Dead Defined thrives on unpredictability and standing confidently between anthemic hard rock infectiousness and thought-provoking technically-charged pop. There music is a cross between the Canadians Nickelback who despite the hate they receive actually write some good stuff and Nine Inch Nails’ with a timeless irresistibility.

This is the vision of singer/songwriter Craig Ewan (Shadows in Red) and previous driving force behind Toronto hard rock band Waveline. Dead Defined was formed back in 2018 with the vocals, instrumentation and writing all done by Ewan. He answered some questions for us recently and this is what he had to say.

What got you into making music?

Music has been a lifelong passion of mine. I got into music like mostly every other Rock’ n Roll musician I know. I wanted to be the cool Rockstar everyone idolized haha. Once you grow up a bit after playing copious amounts of Live shows and going through financial struggles, reality sinks in and you realize it’s more about the passion for the actual music and hard work than just wanting to be the ‘Cool’ guy. That inflated ego dies off pretty quick once that sinks in and either you love to do it or you don’t. Thankfully it’s my passion.

Who inspired you to make music?

I have too many music and life influencers and inspirers to even list but as far as musical, off the top of my head for band’s and writing styles go would be anything from bands like Papa Roach, Filter, Theory of a Deadman to legit anything on the other side of the spectrum of Chill/Lo-fi or Melodic tunes at the moment. I’m all over the map when it comes to musical influence these days.

What is your creative process?

It really just falls out of thin air haha. Probably not the response you’re looking for but that’s how most of my writing happens. I rarely ever have a set plan or choose when or where to start. It just happens. I like to think it has a lot to do with my subconscious, as when I do have an idea it flows like water while writing. I’m one to write a song in full the first time as many people do it in parts. If I’m running with a good idea at the time I’ll write until there’s nothing left in the ‘think tank’ as I call it.

Is there anyone you would like to collaborate with?

At the moment I’m currently hoping to collaborate with another Canadian Hard Rock bane call The Veer Union. I’ve been a fan of their work for many years and would love to collaborate with another amazing Canadian Artist. I’ve sent a message to their management and hoping for a response by the end of the year.

What does Your Band Name Mean?

The band name actually comes from a dark place, but the music is actually quite positive ha. The origin of it stems from questioning one’s own mortality. I had been watching too many documentaries at the time about assisted suicide in the critically ill and elderly and the question I always asked myself was how does one define death? It’s a bit morbid I know, but Dead Defined had a better ring to it than any other descriptive pairing of words. 

What is your favourite song to perform?

Since Covid has shut down the Live industry in Canada and there’s no foreseeable future of it opening anytime soon, I haven’t yet played my new music to an audience. I only started this project at the end of 2018 and my main focus was building an online fanbase prior to live shows starting up to get the ball rolling. Then Covid hit. As far as past performances with my other bands, I loved to play covers of the music I grew up idolizing. Renditions of Three Days Grace and Seether were always crowd favourites.

What are you working on right now?

I’m in the midst of writing a new rock ballad as I don’t really have one yet in my roster of released music from Dead Defined. My plans for the future are to keep on the same path as I’m on. Spiritually and emotionally. I find I write best when I’m not in my head as much. I like to take time to pursue other hobbies and passions other than music 24/7. If I obsess about it I find it zaps my creativity. The nice weather in Canada is now approaching so I like to get out and free my mind so to speak.


Website: https://www.deaddefined.com/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/DeadDefinedOfficial/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/craig_ewan/

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC9heJOPHswZyf5_fbKJYhSw

Why not follow if you wish to be notified of new posts.

Leave a comment