Interview: Radioactive Pineapple

Band Members:

Vocals/Guitar: Ozzie

Drums: Thoubi

Bass: Jake

Radioactive Pineapple are a skate/pop punk band from Helsinki, Finland. First formed in 2014 the band are heavily influenced by the likes of Blink 182, NOFX and Green Day delivering catchy choruses and covering issues such as mental health. The lineup has changed frequently as they released their first EP “Horses Wearing Horses” (2018) with only two members in the band at the time, Ozzie and Thoubi.

Later they found a suitable bass player in Jake and managed to make the band whole again and with whom they went on to make the album ‘YES!’ in 2022. Jake spoke to us recently about his influences, how the band make their music and what’s coming next check it out!!

What got you into making music?

I discovered Green Day when I was like 13 or something and jamming to their songs made me realize that great music isn’t necessarily that complex and I could make some by myself. My former schoolmate persuaded me to join the school band when I was 15 and that experience encouraged me to find a ”real” band, so I ”online-dated” Jones and Walter, my bandmates from my first band, Too Hot for Radio.

Who inspired you to make music?

Everyday life with its ups and downs, and all the people around me. I often like to make my music into stories and sometimes mix it with fictional elements. Musically I’m inspired mostly by pop punk bands from the 90s and the early 00s, like blink-182, Green Day, Sum 41 and Zebrahead. However, I also like to draw inspiration from different kinds of rock and alternative music, for instance, Oasis, Foo Fighters and Red Hot Chili Peppers.

What is your creative process?

 I usually have some sort of idea of what kind of song I wanna write, and then I sit down with my acoustic guitar and start jamming. Sometimes I use guitar pro or some other tool to see how the song can be arranged, and finally, I record a demo version of the song with drum samples.

Is there anyone you would like to collaborate with?

There are many cool bands in the local scene, like Glass Wipe, Amanita Story and Vaatturi&Myyjät, and it would be awesome to collaborate with some of them one day. Also if you want to be a credible pop-punk band, you should have Mark Hoppus do a vocal part on one of your songs. It would be fun but not very likely, I guess.

What does your band name mean?

There’s no special story there. Ozzie came up with a handful of weird names, most of which included fruits or vegetables, and finally, they settled with Radioactive Pineapple. I wasn’t in the band until 2018 so I didn’t play any part in that matter.

What is your favourite song to perform?

Tough question. I like the songs on our upcoming EP but I can’t reveal too much of it yet. Last year we covered blink-182’s Josie, which was pretty cool because most people in the scene know that song, and there often was a mosh-pit when we performed it.

What are you working on right now?

We are currently recording vocals and some last guitar parts for our new EP, which we hope we can release in the late spring or early summer. We’re also booking as many shows as possible so we can promote the EP most efficiently.


Website: https://linktr.ee/radioactivepineapple

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/Radioactivepineapple/

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/radioactivepineappleofficial/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/RadioactivePine

YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCUw8ejIo8otP3xEKdrgtfVw

Why not follow if you wish to be notified of new posts.

Leave a comment